CARPE DIEM

(the original title is “A whole new perspective” but I found it better to change the title with “Carpe Diem”)

Friday morning it is when this article was assigned to us. Since then I began to wonder what the meaning of life is. How shall I define it? I had confusions actually that took me so long to come up with an idea, or at least grasp one. There have been many conflicting thoughts running in my head. Is it really possible to confine the complexities of life into this limited parchment? But then, like many others, I tried.

            While some see life as an end, and others see it as a constant process – a cycle, I see it as a battlefield. It is a constant war between what I want and what is right. As David Russell said, “the hardest thing in life is to choose which bridge to cross and which to burn.” Life is a choice where there is no turning back, as time is swiftly passing by.

            I was raised to have options on my hands. I was raised to decide on how I would live my life. I am free to do what I want and find my personal legend, as Paulo Coelho wrote in his novel, The Alchemist. Yes. I know I am free. But in this freedom, I was also thought never to infringe others’ equal freedom. As one puts it, “our freedom ends when others’ has begun.”

            As I journeyed through life for 22 years, I learned that life is building relationships. That though we’re just poor in terms of wealth, I am so rich with family and friends who love me.

            Once, I wondered how I could make myself immortal. Shakespeare and some other great people answered my query. I could be immortalized by living my life to the full and touching the lives of others. Life is all about sharing a part of your life to others. I couldn’t forget a quote from an anonymous source that says, “When you touch someone’s heart, they will never quite be the same again. Part of your life will be in them, always.”

            We are part of the greater scheme. We are challenged, that as living entity, as human, we strike the difference and make change in other peoples’ lives. We are asked to reach out to those who are poor, suffering, and dying.

            For others, life is cruel and unfair. Perhaps, it is true. But God, I believe, isn’t blind. He made the world perfectly. We all just have to see life in God’s perspective. It is good to live life to the full. But it is nobler and sweeter to help one live his life to the full; to inspire and be inspired.

            Many people have affected my point of view about life. Perhaps, meeting different people each day and reading books have changed and shaped my beliefs. At home, I was thought to always be meek and humble. I observe that my family would rather choose to be silent than to argue, especially when the opponent is someone in power or is a friend. This is good for some time. But at some point, I know I must strike the difference and go against the flow. I must stand and be firm of what I believe in – a thing I teach everyone I meet. “A dead thing can go with the stream, but only a living thing can go against it,” said G. K. Chesterton in his book, The Everlasting Man. I tenacious and I always will be. Otherwise, I will be easily swayed by the confusions of the world.

            This is my life. I am unique and I see life in my own perspective. My life is in my own hands. What other people think about me doesn’t interest me. I am happy and I guess that’s what we all want in this life – happiness. I always strive to live my life extraordinarily.

            I am always satisfied but never content. There is more to life than we see it. So I always hope for the future and live well each day; and not, just as Henry David Thoreau wrote, when I had come to die, discover that I had not lived.

About harksarmiento

Filipino. 22. Teacher of English. Writer. Leader and Team-builder. Speaker. Graduate of BSED at BPSU - DC. Plays badminton and scrabble at leisure. Avid netizen. straightforward. sarcastic. tenacious. neurotic. LOVES philosophy and psychology, logic, languages, music, politics, and religion. INTERESTS: blogging, watching movies, writing, reading.

Posted on July 1, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

